And All I Can Give is Everything I Am

When I said I loved you that very first night

I said it from the depths of a heart I thought was ice cold.

I didn’t know.

When you dropped to one knee by my grandfather’s grave

and asked me if I wanted to try forever,

I didn’t know.

When I dressed in flowing white

And we recited our promises for a happy life,

I didn’t know.

When I saw that second pink line and my heart skipped a beat

And when I told you your face glowed radiantly.

I didn’t know.

When the pain wracked my body for hours on end

And you held my leg until our daughter was born,

I didn’t know.

Everyday you were with me, I didn’t know how this distance would feel. 

Everyday you were with me, I was whole and new and real. 

I didn’t know how much you truly meant to me until you had to leave.

And when you return to me, My Love, I will never forget. 

When you return to me, My Love, I will cherish every new moment.

I didn’t know but “Thank You, Deployment,” I know now.

Leave a Reply

