Distance

And I whisper into the encircled totem that binds us

a tenuous thread of darkness and light unbalanced apart

“I miss you, I miss you,”but it seems superfluous.

And I seek to find faith in what I don’t understand

and ignore the selfish whispering flames of my heart

though it burns my chest like an iron brand.

And I pray to a god who does not love me

though I begged him while swollen with your child

to not steal you away as I cowered on my knees.

And I covet the touch, the graze of a hand on cheek

of people passing by me unknowingly

because I have known the thrill that is piqued.

And I cry at the space between our hands

because I can never reach far enough

to bridge the distance between lands.

 

Leave a Reply

