Forgive Me, I’m a Military Wife

Some days I will be a bear to bear.

 

I cannot promise to be on time

Every day of the week or any day of the week

Because I am a military wife.

 

I cannot promise to look put together

Every day of the week or any day of the week

Because I am a military wife.

 

I cannot promise to participate in every work event

Every day of the week or any day of the week

Because I am a military wife.

 

I will not promise to be a model wife, mother, or employee

Because I am a military wife

Because every morning I struggle to get out of bed

And face a world where I have to stand on my own

As a mother, as a husbandless wife, as a working woman just trying to get by

Where there are nights I do not eat dinner

Trying to rock my daughter to sleep

And I stay up after long hours of swaying and singing and shushing

Back bent, hair frizzed, clothing stained, weeping

Head throbbing through the night as she eats an hour at a time three times through the night

And I find spaces of sleep between her needs

Between times of insomniac manic worrying if my husband will come home:

 

Is he safe? Is he safe? Is he safe?

 

Heart racing, anxiety attacks building, body missing the security of my other half.

 

Because I am a military wife

And I too make a sacrifice.

Leave a Reply

