How?

How could we have known this love would be a source of both pain and ecstasy when you caught my eye under the dingy white tarp of that festival tent and the electricity of a coming storm danced under our skin?

That separation was inevitable and the string of fate would span an ocean, stretched as thin as a spider’s webbing, cutting into the flesh of our hearts where it knotted all those days ago when I looked back at you and knew life would never be the same?

How could I have known I would be so lucky as to possess a love that would cause such longing in the dark expanse of lonely nights?

How could I have known the blessing of the pain of missing you far outweighs the numbness of never having known you?

How could I have known that a deployment would make me love you even more than I ever dreamed a soul could love, deeper than the unknown depths of the ocean floor, longer than the infinity of this universe?

Leave a Reply

